Burn Ban in effect for Stonewall County

News Staff's picture

By Kyndra Vaught

During the regular scheduled meeting, the Stonewall County Commissioners Court enacted a 90-day burn ban that will be in effect until May 12, 2018.

Judge Moorehead recommended the ban after informing the court Governor Abbott had designated King, Cottle, Knox, and Foard counties as a disaster area due to the drought.

“Stonewall County is a contiguous county, so it qualifies our ranchers and farmers for low-interest disaster loans,” said Moorehead, adding that the country had crossed over the line into the drought area over the last week.

To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition https://etypeservices.com/Double%20Mountain%20ChronicleID687/

Rate this article: 
No votes yet